A Word From Our Sponsors: Canadian Cooperation

24 avr. 2015

Visit of the Kyeshero hospital by the Canadian Cooperation, Photo: Papy Mulamba, UNDP DRC, February 2015

For several years, Canada has been supporting the UNDP in the efforts for sustainable development and consolidation of democratic governance. Currently, a Joint Programme of Fight Against Impunity, Support of Victims of Violence Based on Gender, and Empowerment of Women in the east of the Democratic Republic of Congo is being funded by the Canadian Government with 18 million Canadian dollars for a period of five years. It brings together UNDP, UNFPA, UNESCO and the UNJHRO, as well as the Ministry of Gender, Family and Children and the Department of Justice and Human Rights (see accompanying box).
To shed light on this partnership, we have asked the Canadian Cooperation to describe our joint work:
"Canada maintains a very good relationship with UNDP. We work closely to achieve the desired results and even when we face challenges, we are able to resolve them constructively. UNDP has always been sensitive to our concerns. We supported the last two electoral processes, in 2006 and 2011, with the purpose of supporting the government to ensure transparent and fair elections. Canada's financial support for these two projects consisted of Can$21 million. Despite the challenges of the past processes, together we still contributed to the democratization process of the DRC, which was still at the beginning. Most recently, we have started the project for the fight against impunity for sexual violence for 2013 -2018, with a value of Can$18 million CAD. This project aims to reduce impunity for sexual offenders by strengthening the capacity of the judicial system while improving the holistic care of the victims of such violence."
*UNDP: United Nations Development Programme; UNFPA: United Nations Fund for Population; UNJHRO: United Nations Joint Office for Human Rights

PNUD Dans le monde

Vous êtes à PNUD Congo (République démocratique du) 
Aller à PNUD Global


Afghanistan Afrique du sud Albanie Algérie Angola Arabie saoudite Argentine Arménie Azerbaïdjan


Bahreïn Bangladesh Barbade Bélarus Bélize Bénin Bhoutan Bolivie Bosnie-Herzégovine Botswana Brésil Bureau du Pacifique Burkina Faso Burundi


Cambodge Cameroun Cap-Vert Centrafrique (République centrafricaine) Chili Chine Chypre Colombie Comores Congo (République démocratique du) Congo (République du) Corée (République populaire démocratique de) Costa Rica Côte d'Ivoire Cuba




Egypte El Salvador Emirats arabes unis Equateur Erythrée Eswatini Ethiopie


Gabon Gambie Géorgie Ghana Guatemala Guinée Guinée-Bissau Guinée équatoriale Guyane


Haïti Honduras


Ile Maurice et Seychelles Inde Indonésie Irak (République d') Iran


Jamaïque Jordanie


Kazakhstan Kenya Kirghizistan Kosovo (selon RCSNU 1244) Koweït


Laos Lesotho Liban Libéria Libye


Macédoine du Nord Madagascar Malaisie Malawi Maldives Mali Maroc Mauritanie Mexique Moldova Mongolie Monténégro Mozambique Myanmar


Namibie Népal Nicaragua Niger Nigéria




Pakistan Panama Papouasie-Nouvelle-Guinée Paraguay Pérou Philippines Programme palestinien


République dominicaine Rwanda


Samoa São Tomé-et-Principe Sénégal Serbie Sierra Leone Somalie Soudan Soudan du Sud Sri Lanka Suriname Syrie


Tadjikistan Tanzanie Tchad Thaïlande Timor-Leste Togo Trinité et Tobago Tunisie Turkménistan Turquie


Ukraine Uruguay Uzbekistan


Venezuela Viet Nam




Zambie Zimbabwe